A Twist to the Storyline

Sterling Silver Stacking Rings

   Have you ever looked at an object and wondered, “How did that get made?” “Was there a machine that made this?”

  With handmade jewelry, you very rarely have specialized machines to make one specific item. Most of the time, you have a basic assortment of tools that you use to make a large variety of things. This lovely stack of twisted sterling bands is a perfect example. It begins as a single 20 gauge wire. The wire is bent in half and the end is held in a vise (or by  a lovely assistant, should you have one handy). Then the wire is turned evenly and repeatedly to form the twisted pattern. Once you have the twisted wire made, then using a mandril, the wire is coiled the size the rings will be and sawn apart. The rings are filed, bent shut, the ends are alined with pliers, and they are fused closed with a torch. After being cleaned in an acid solution, they are tumbled to increase their durability and to bring them to a bright shine. Finally, a mixture of sulphuric acid is applied to the surface and it is rebuffed using a flexible shaft machine in a process called antiquing.

From a single piece of wire to an attractive stack of rings made for you, in your size. Please feel free to message me on Etsy if you have any questions about these lovely stacker rings!

http://www.etsy.com/listing/86150258/sterling-silver-twisted-stacking-rings-5

About moonkistdesigns

I'm a resident of upstate South Carolina, and live with a spoiled and opinionated Doberman named Remington, a Chihuahua mix who thinks she is a Doberman, and several really rotten cats! I have a muse that wakes me up with jewelry designs in the middle of the night, and a studio that is my favorite place in the world. I first began my jewelry career when I was 10. I started out cutting cabochons (they're the rounded-non faceted stones) at the local gem and mineral club in Augusta, GA. When I turned 14, I took silversmithing and fabrication lessons from a local bench jeweler, and I've been making jewelry ever since! From 2005-2008 I taught beginning silversmithing at Earthspeak Arts Jewelry school in Asheville, NC. In 2008, I started Moonkist Designs and now I enjoy creating artisan crafted mixed metal jewelry! Please visit our store at www.moonkistdesigns.com; or our Etsy store at www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistdesigns, www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistcreations, or www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistgallery.
This entry was posted in Art, Jewelry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

