When a Thought Works Out Well…

Image

Sometimes, you have the chance to create custom items for someone that turn out even nicer than what you had envisioned! This lovely design was the idea of Rebecca Brittian, a photographer with a wonderful sense of design. She came to me with the idea, and we were both delighted with the results!

The bezel setting was created basically like a pear-shaped tube mount. I made the first, outer tube to fit the diameter of the diamond. After soldering it shut with hard solder, I fabricated a second, inner tube to slide into the mount. Once I had them fitted together, I tapped the tube in with a leather mallet, leaving about 1/8th an inch clearance to set the diamond down in. I soldered it in place with medium solder, then trimmed the bottom of the mounting with a jewelers saw.

I filed a flat spot to join the tube mount, then soldered it directly to the band with medium solder. Then I filed a small 90 degree v-shaped notch at the point of the pear, to relieve the pressure on the stone during setting. After clean-up and polishing, I was able to burnish edge of the mounting the diamond, and polish it to a bright shine!

Please visit my website at http://www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistdesigns for contact information and more ideas. I’d love to help you create your own special piece of uniquely perfect jewelry!

Thanks!

About moonkistdesigns

I'm a resident of upstate South Carolina, and live with a spoiled and opinionated Doberman named Remington, a Chihuahua mix who thinks she is a Doberman, and several really rotten cats! I have a muse that wakes me up with jewelry designs in the middle of the night, and a studio that is my favorite place in the world. I first began my jewelry career when I was 10. I started out cutting cabochons (they're the rounded-non faceted stones) at the local gem and mineral club in Augusta, GA. When I turned 14, I took silversmithing and fabrication lessons from a local bench jeweler, and I've been making jewelry ever since! From 2005-2008 I taught beginning silversmithing at Earthspeak Arts Jewelry school in Asheville, NC. In 2008, I started Moonkist Designs and now I enjoy creating artisan crafted mixed metal jewelry! Please visit our store at www.moonkistdesigns.com; or our Etsy store at www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistdesigns, www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistcreations, or www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistgallery.
Aside | This entry was posted in Art, Jewelry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When a Thought Works Out Well…

  1. LLB says:

    love this

Leave a Reply

