A Crowning Achievement

Image

When one of your favorite customers ask you to make a pair of crowns for their upcoming story book wedding, what else is there to do but enthusiastically agree? With a design in mind, several pieces of graph paper, and a large piece of graph paper, I cut out the basic shape and textured it with a ball peen hammer. I measured and cut a heavy copper band and soldered it in place for added rigidity and comfort in wearing. Using 12 gauge copper wire, I cut and shaped the pieces that would go on the top and soldered them in place one by one using silver solder.

Image

Once the ornamentation was in place, I rounded the crown and soldered it in place.

Image

Using a 20 inch wooden mandrel and a leather mallet, I hammered out the crown to give it an even shape.

Image

My husband liked it so much, and it fit so well, he almost made off with it!

Image

Husband was kind enough to sandblast it, since it wouldn’t fit into the pickle pot in my shop!

I made the sterling decoration for the front of the crown. The stone was a piece of custom dichroic glass purchased from an Etsy artist.

Image

A couple of coats of silver duracoat were added, and the finished product was beautiful!

Can I say that we felt like absolute rock stars when we finished this?

About moonkistdesigns

I'm a resident of upstate South Carolina, and live with a spoiled and opinionated Doberman named Remington, a Chihuahua mix who thinks she is a Doberman, and several really rotten cats! I have a muse that wakes me up with jewelry designs in the middle of the night, and a studio that is my favorite place in the world. I first began my jewelry career when I was 10. I started out cutting cabochons (they're the rounded-non faceted stones) at the local gem and mineral club in Augusta, GA. When I turned 14, I took silversmithing and fabrication lessons from a local bench jeweler, and I've been making jewelry ever since! From 2005-2008 I taught beginning silversmithing at Earthspeak Arts Jewelry school in Asheville, NC. In 2008, I started Moonkist Designs and now I enjoy creating artisan crafted mixed metal jewelry! Please visit our store at www.moonkistdesigns.com; or our Etsy store at www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistdesigns, www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistcreations, or www.etsy.com/shop/moonkistgallery.
This entry was posted in Art, Crafting, Jewelry, Metalwork, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Crowning Achievement

  1. Elizabeth Rosner says:

    Bought one of your beautiful “stacking rings” last month at a shop in San Miguel de Allende, MEXICO. Aqua blue chalcedony. I am now a devoted fan of your work (and may have to begin stacking)….

    • moonkistdesigns says:

      Thank you for the kind compliment, Elizabeth! I look forward to making you something soon!

Leave a Reply

